Sign In


 Charter Awards Ceremony 2016

 The Gold Standard for the Investment Profession

First awarded in 1963, the CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst) charter is the designation of professional excellence within the global investment community. The CFA Program offers a truly global educational challenge where you'll build a fundamental knowledge of investment principles that is relevant in every market around the world.

The self-study graduate-level program meets the needs of today’s busy professionals. The program combines a broad-based course of study with strict professional conduct requirements. Employers and investors know the CFA charter is the definitive standard for measuring portfolio management and investment analysis competence and integrity. The CFA designation represents a personal commitment to professional excellence.

The CFA Charter is a designation awarded to investment professionals having successfully completed and passed three comprehensive and rigorous examinations over a minimum 2.5 year period. To earn the CFA designation, candidates must also have at least four years of relevant professional investment experience and comply with the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct. It is obligatory for candidates to be a current member of CFA Institute in order to obtain and use the CFA designation.

 Value Added

While most graduate school programs cover a broad range of topics, the CFA Program focuses specifically on investment knowledge, and the self-study format allows you to continue working full time as you progress towards earning the CFA Charter. Candidates for the CFA Program include students entering the investment field, professionals increasing their expertise and marketability, and people making a career change into the investment profession from other disciplines.

 Global Recognition

With a six-decade history of maintaining a rigorous focus on globally relevant investment knowledge, the CFA Program is the most widely known and respected investment credential in the world. All CFA Charterholders subscribe to an extensive ethical code of professional conduct safeguarded by disciplinary action if not adhered to.

 Career Advantage

Employers recognize the CFA charter as the definitive standard by which to measure the competence, integrity, and dedication of serious investment professionals. Employers and clients increasingly require professionals who demonstrate a competence in implementing international investment strategies.

 Practical Skills

The CFA Program curriculum focuses on the practical knowledge and current real-world skills necessary in the global investment management profession. These skills are immediately useful on the job. CFA Institute and CFA NL are very active in bringing forward the most up to date research and conferences thus facilitating lifelong learning.


Earning the CFA charter places you in the company of an elite group of some 100,000 respected investment professionals globally. Access to their collective expertise, networks, and resources is an invaluable asset.
Visit the CFA Institute website to learn more about the CFA program and how to become a Charterholder.

 The CFA Charter

The CFA Charter is a globally recognized, graduate-level investment credential.
Earning it demonstrates a commitment to professional ethics and expertise with the broad range of skills needed for competitive careers in the investment profession.
To earn the CFA Charter you must complete the CFA Program.