Sign In


 Annual Charter Awards Ceremony

19th Annual
March 31, 2022

CFA Society Vancouver is hosting the 18th Annual Charter Awards Ceremony virtually on March 31, 2022.  


Margaret E. Franklin, CFA

Margaret Franklin.jpgMs. Franklin is President and CEO of CFA Institute. Before joining CFA Institute, Margaret led International Wealth Management for North America and was president of BNY Mellon Wealth Management, Canada. Previously, she was president of Marret Private Wealth and served in senior positions at Barclays Global Investors, State Street Global Advisors, and Mercer. Ms. Franklin is the former chair of the Board of Governors of CFA Institute and a past president of the Toronto CFA Society. She received a bachelor's degree in economics from McMaster University. 


Nick Karliychuk, CFA
Nick Karliychuk Headshot V3.jpg

Mr. Karliychuk is Vice President & Portfolio Manager with Pathfinder Asset Management Limited where he contributes to overall business strategy and heads several functions, including operations, trading, client services and technology, helping clients grow and preserve their wealth. He has volunteered with CFA Society Vancouver since 2013 and has been responsible for organizing educational events, overseeing the Programs Committee. Mr. Karliychuk is a CFA charterholder.

Michael Thom, CFA

Michael Thom.jpgMichael Thom, CFA is the Managing Director for CFA Societies Canada. He leads the strategic direction of CFA Societies Canada and advocates the highest standards of integrity and ethics for the ultimate benefit of Canadian investors, while building brand awareness of the CFA designation. Mr. Thom comes to CFA Societies Canada with over 12 years of experience in a variety of capital markets positions. His most recent role was as an executive at a Toronto-based hedge fund manager. Previously his career was focused in equity trading and portfolio management at firms in Toronto and Vancouver. Mr. Thom brings many years of volunteer leadership experience in advocacy in this role. He has served as a director of CFA Society Toronto's board, has volunteered in multiple capacities for CFA Institute, and as a member and former chair of the Canadian Advocacy Council. Mr. Thom is a graduate of the University of British Columbia and is a CFA charterholder.

Maria Pacella, CFA

Maria Pacella V2.jpg

Ms. Pacella joined Pender in January 2017. She has been investing in emerging growth companies, with a focus on technology businesses since 2001. She spent 11 years with one of Canada's largest venture capital firms where she invested in multiple early-stage ventures and served on a variety of boards, mostly in the areas of enterprise software, e-commerce and med-tech. Prior to that she worked at a digital media firm assisting the company in operational activities and strategic initiatives. She also worked in financial and technology M & A for the Canadian subsidiary of an international investment firm.

Ms. Pacella's experience includes operational roles at early‐stage companies, serving on boards, facilitating M & A's and leading financings. She has built an extensive technology network across North America, notably in Silicon Valley, and has been a member of C100. She is currently a director on the board of Clarius Mobile Health and an observer on the board of Tantalus Systems. She is also on the SFU Beedie School of Business Advisory Board.

She holds a BBA from Simon Fraser University, is a CFA charterholder and an active member and a past President of CFA Society Vancouver.

Tim Wilkinson, CFA

Tim Wilkinson Small.pngMr. Wilkinson is a Senior Analyst/Trader and a Principal at Connor Clark and Lunn Investment Management Ltd.  He works on the fixed income team spending the majority of his time on trade execution and risk management. Prior to his current role at the firm, he spent a number of years as a senior analyst on the business analytics team within the Connor Clark and Lunn Financial Group.  He holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Victoria and became a CFA Charterholder in 2007.


Registration:             5:00 pm
Opening Remarks:   5:30 pm
Ceremony:               6:00 pm
Live Music               7:00 pm
Closing Remarks:    7:30 pm

Registration Fee
New CFA Charterholders (members) - $50
Guests - Complimentary


Sponsored by

Smiths School of Business.jpg

UBC Sauder_3C_RGB SMALL.jpg

 2021 Charter Recipients

CFA Society Vancouver would llike to congratulate the following charter recipients: 

Adam Joshua Crompton, CFA
Adam Victor Carris, CFA
Alan Hogarth, CFA
Alex Kishor Joshi, CFA
Alexander Arek Christie, CFA
Alexander McNaughton Muir, CFA
Aman Singh Aujla, CFA
Andre Pieterse, CFA
Angus Kai Chung Tam, CFA
Anqi Wu, CFA
Anthony Iain Schier, CFA
Blake Edwin Hayley, CFA
Bonnie Leong, CFA
Brian William Hennessy, CFA
Cameron Bailey Nelson, CFA
Charles Lionel Reese, CFA
Christopher Lee Brown, CFA
Claude Guy Lamothe, CFA
Colton Marc Marentette, CFA
Connor Paul Grosskopf, CFA
Daniel Lee, CFA
Daniel Jason Gonzalez, CFA
Daniel Gardiner McAuley, CFA
David Kristian Campbell Jensen, CFA
Dhruv Kumar Sood, CFA
Elizabeth Jiaxi Zhang, CFA
Emily Chang, CFA
Fan Xu, CFA
Feiran Chen, CFA
Gregory Michael Smith, CFA
Guang Hui Quan, CFA
Han Xun Li, CFA
Hanh Tuong Bao Nguyen, CFA
Hao Li, CFA
Harpreet Singh Dhaliwal, CFA
Ho Ming Cheung, CFA
Jacques C Trudel, CFA
Jaideep Singh Sandhu, CFA
Janzen David Lee, CFA
Jeremy Joseph Grewal, CFA
Jia Yun Peng, CFA
Jiaqi Xie, CFA
Jie Si Wang, CFA
Jimmy Man Kit Lai, CFA
Jingjing Chang, CFA
John Francis Farrell, CFA
Jonathan Bryan Yip, CFA
Jonathan Harold Bradley, CFA
Jordan Williams, CFA
Jorge Marques, CFA
Joshua Dumaresq, CFA
Joshua Tyler Mays-Quinn, CFA
Ki Bum Kim, CFA
Kwan Woo Lee, CFA
Landon Daniel Bharey, CFA
Laverne M Ito, CFA
Lin Tian, CFA
Lin Lo Chang, CFA
Ling Ji, CFA
Ling Wu, CFA
Luai Sherif Abdelkader Mohamed Ghazi, CFA
Luke Robert Belrose, CFA
Madeleine Ruth Payne, CFA
Manraj Singh Litt, CFA
Mathew Scott Kothlow, CFA
Matthew Philip Cindric, CFA
Matthew Robert Ellis, CFA
Matthew Sing Loong To, CFA
Michael James Liu, CFA
Micole Kruse, CFA
Ming Ming Yu, CFA
Mingfeng Wu, CFA
Natalie Shojania, CFA
Nicholas Kenneth Kakinuma, CFA
Nichole Ellen Faerber, CFA
Nikolas Alek Venema, CFA
Nitin Ashok, CFA
Oghenekioja Daniel Ofomi, CFA
Oguz Can Genc, CFA
Peter Konefal, CFA
Peter Jackson Behncke, CFA
Peter James Harrington, CFA
Piper Hoekstra, CFA
Qian Lan, CFA
Qiuting Zhou, CFA
Raheem Aly Esmail, CFA
Raman Karatchenia, CFA
Reid Graham Pearce, CFA
Rina Miyaue, CFA
Robbie Alfredo Maria Victoria Guerrero, CFA
Rui Yan, CFA
Ryan Rizzo, CFA
Ryan Michael Yeo, CFA
Sa'ad Musa Mustafa, CFA
Sahil Khullar, CFA
Saiyin Ye, CFA
Samuel Yoo Lee, CFA
Seok Woon Choi, CFA
Shahed Tootoonian Mashhad, CFA
Shi Zhang, CFA
Simon Lavoie-Deraspe, CFA
Steven Brock Dunford, CFA
Svetlana Ivakhina, CFA
Sylvanna Asia, CFA
Taylor Howard Carter, CFA
Te-Wei Shih, CFA
Thomas Cecchi, CFA
Thu Anh Le, CFA
Ting Yu Lee, CFA
Tracy Wicaksana, CFA
Ugochinyere Oluchi Ugwuzor, CFA
Victor Chenyang You, CFA
Xiaodong Ye, CFA
Xin Li, CFA
Yeh Ching Chien, CFA
Yiming Hu, CFA
Yuan Wang, CFA
Yuanyuan Chen, CFA
Zachary Taylor Lawrence Short, CFA
Zaw Thiha Tun, CFA
Zhu Wei Zhang, CFA