Sign In


 Scholarship Opportunities

The CFA Society of Houston has awarded $2,500 annually to four deserving students: one each from Rice University, The University of Houston, Texas A&M University, and the University of St. Thomas. Each Spring, the CFA Houston Scholarship Committee accepts applications from each of the four universities from graduate business students that have one year remaining in their studies. Applicants are asked to submit a resume and an essay on why they are pursuing the CFA ® designation along with their financial needs. The committee reviews the applications and interviews the prospective applicants while also gathering feedback from the school liaisons that work directly with the committee. From there, one winner from each school is awarded the Society's annual scholarship with the recipients also being invited to a future CFA event where they are formally acknowledged amongst members of the Society. 

​CFA Houston Scholarship Award Program

Congratulations to the Society's Scholarship Recipients for the 2021-2022 school year:

Arun Kalpuzha- Rice University
Haya Harmouche- University of Houston
Haley Hefner - Texas A&M University
Xiaolei Xie- University of St. Thomas

The CFA Society of Houston funds these scholarships solely through member donations, which serve as tax deductible charitable contributions.  CFA​ Houston members have generously supported the fund, which has enabled the Society to help “pass the torch” to some excellent future candidates in the business.  If you are interested in helping continue scholarship awards through your donations, please see this page to learn more and thank you!

CFA Program Access Scholarships

The CFA Institute maintains different scholarship programs, but here we highlight Access Awards for candidates in the Greater Houston area.  The goal of the Access Scholarship program is to provide greater access to the CFA program for those that otherwise could not afford it.  The CFA Institute provides funding for several scholarships annually to Houston-area CFA® candidates to use towards their registration and enrollment fees for either the June or December exams of the CFA® Program.  Applicants for this Society's scholarship must live within 200 miles of Houston, Texas, must be eligible to enroll into the CFA Program, and must not be reimbursed by their company for exam fees.  CFA exam level I, II or III candidates are eligible to apply for these scholarships.  Applicants may be students, Society members or prospective Society members.  Scholarship awards reduce CFA Program enrollment and exam registration fees to $250, including the CFA Program eBook.

The deadline for 2021 exams has already passed.  The Society will be accepting applications for the June and December 2022 exams.  The submission deadline for the 2022 exams is September 15, 2021.

Application instructions for the June and December, 2022 Exams:

CFA Program Access Scholarships will be awarded again in the 2022 exam cycle.  See this link for important program details on Access Scholarships:​​ 

Please note:  your completed application must be made through the CFA Institute website by September 15, 2021 to be considered for the June and December, 2022​ Exams.  It is anticipated that scholarship awards will be announced on or before the second week of December.  Recipients apply their scholarships to either the June or the December exams, and must register and sit for the exam in the relevant exam year awarded to continue being eligible for future Access scholarships.

Current CFA Society of Houston Scholarship Co-Chairs:

Brian S. Quattrucci, CFA at [email protected] and Jung Hwang, CFA at [email protected]​​​

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Past CFA Houston Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the Society's Scholarship Recipients for the previous years:

2015-2016 school year​:
Rice University​Ran Huo and Mustafa Kodwavi       ​​​
University of HoustonJane Tran and Kevin Newman
2014-2015 school year:
Rice University​Ryan A. Leary and Wei Si  ​​​
University of HoustonMichael Becherer and Kay Boakye Yiadom
2013-2014 school year:
Rice University​LaTisha M. Cotto and Adam Van Doren
University of HoustonHsin-Mei Chen and Trey Evans