Volunteers and supporters

In addition to our volunteer board, our society is fortunate to receive support from many volunteers and organisations.

Ainsley McLaren, Vice Chair – Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)

An Executive Director at Harbour Asset Management, Ainsley has over 25 years’ investment management experience in number of senior roles, including Executive director and Head of Investment Management at First State Investments (NZ), and Head of Investment Management for ASB Group Investments.  Ainsley holds a B.Com in Economics, and previously served on the Boards of the Financial Markets Authority, the Government Superannuation Fund Authority and Hohepa Auckland Regional Board.  She is an Associate Member of CFA Society NZ.

Hamish Ellis-Jack, CFA:  Vice Chair – Candidate Outreach

Hamish is the Chief Financial Officer of Sustainable Property Investment, a value-add commercial property fund with 10 Auckland based commercial property assets worth $155 million. Hamish has significant experience in corporate finance, strategy and investment advisory having worked for Deloitte and some of New Zealand’s largest corporates as well as a boutique Investment Bank.
During his time in London Hamish was a member of the CFA Society of the UK. Hamish holds a Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting and Finance and a Certificate in Languages in German from the University of Auckland. Outside of work Hamish is a passionate field hockey umpire and is on the Board of North Harbour Hockey.

JD van Heerden, CFA: Vice Chair – Member Engagement

JD is Finance Manager and Product Group Manager at Synlait.

Jennifer Chee, CFA:  Vice Chair – Events

Jennifer has over eight years’ experience across private equity investment management, investment banking, and macroeconomic research. She is currently an Investment Associate at Jarden’s Principal Investments team, which specialises in providing growth capital to private NZ businesses. Jennifer served as Chair / board member at INFINZ Young Women in Finance (YWF) and holds a Bachelor of Commerce with First Class Honours in Finance at the University of Auckland.

Erin Hasemore-Slieker, CFA:  Vice Chair – University Outreach

Erin is a Research Analyst in the Australasian Equity team at ANZ Investments, where she is responsible for researching the NZ and Australian listed technology names. Prior to accepting this role in 2021, Erin worked as a Performance Analyst where she completed attributions and risk analysis for the ANZ-managed KiwiSaver scheme funds. Erin has a bachelor of Business Studies (Finance and Economics) from Massey University and is a CFA charterholder.


  • JD Van Heerden, CFA, ambassador for Canterbury
  • Emma Beale, CFA, ambassador for Wellington
  • Perry Ho, ambassador at PwC
  • Devarsh Pathak, CFA, ambassador at ASB
  • Barbara Salazar, CFA, ambassador at NZ Super Fund
  • Mitchell Hurring, ambassador at Financial Markets Authority (FMA)
  • Sam Laurenson, CFA, ambassador at Craigs Investment Partners
  • Abby de Beer, ambassador at Westpac

Candidate committee

  • Hamish Ellis-Jack, Vice Chair
  • Abby de Beer, Westpac
  • Ranbir Mazumdar
  • Thomas Moot
  • Mitchell Hurring
  • Kobe Huang
  • Nicole Tan