Research Challenge


CFA Institute Research Challenge

The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that connects university students with investment professionals from within the CFA Society® network. The competition provides students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis and ethics and tests participants' analytical, valuation, reporting writing, and presentation skills.

Members of our society, along with a faculty advisor and an industry mentor, work with teams of students to value a stock, write a research report, and present their recommendations. Teams then compete with peers from other schools at local-level competitions organized and judged by CFA Society members and volunteers. The winning university team(s) from each local competition then advances to see who will become the sub-regional, regional, and global champions. 

Learn more and read FAQs See the schedule and get involved

CFA Institute Research Challenge
New Zealand competition 2023

The CFA Institute Research Challenge is an annual global competition that provides university students with hands-on mentoring and intensive training in financial analysis. Students work in teams to research and analyse a publicly traded company.  Teams write a research report on their assigned company with a buy, sell, or hold recommendation and may be asked to present and defend their analysis to a panel of industry professionals.

The New Zealand competition of the 2023/24 CFA Institute Research Challenge

On 13 October 2023 six universities were tested on their analytical, valuation, report writing, and presentation skills.  The organisation they analysed was Oceania Healthcare.  It was an in-person competition help at KPMG Auckland.

First place: University of Otago
Angus Wills, Christian Baillie, Charlotte Marris, Harrison McMillan, Harlen Hancock

Second place: University of Auckland
Timothy Cross, James MacLean, Sam Bird, Aimee Ng, Danielle Smith

Third place: Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
Wendy Wang, Nurul Syahirah, Swarnima Bhandari

The following people won individual prizes:
Angus Wills, Swarnima Bhandari, Sam Bird, Raven Cain, Paige (Peiling) Li, Yan Anderson

The other universities competing were; Lincoln University, Massey University,  University of Canterbury.

A huge thanks to everyone who contributed:

Faculty advisors: Khanh (Harry) Hoang, Christopher Gan, Michelle Li, Moritz Wagner, Helen Roberts, Russell Gregory-Allen
Industry mentors: Alex Martin, Byeongguk Kim, Jeremy Hutton, Keshav Mahinda, Margaret Bei, Tiffany Robinson
Judges: Manuel Greenland, Angus Simpson, Joey Wang
Organisers:  Max Palmer and Erin Hasemore-Slieker
Sponsors: Thanks to Robert Walters, Craigs Investment Partners and KPMG for sponsoring the 2023 competition.