Join or Renew

Membership Types

CFA Society Winnipeg is a local chapter of CFA Institute. Becoming a member of CFA Society Winnipeg requires first joining CFA Institute, through which all membership applications are processed. Membership classifications for both CFA Institute and CFA Society Winnipeg are CFA Charterholder, Regular Member, Affiliate Member or Retired Member. 

CFA Society Winnipeg also offers the “Professional Network Service” (PNS) supporter member, which does not require membership with CFA Institute. The PNS was introduced by CFA Society Winnipeg to meet the needs of financial professionals who would like to support CFA Society Winnipeg and receive discounts on CFA Society Winnipeg events, but do not intend on becoming a CFA charterholder. Therefore, PNS subscribers do not have access to any of the benefits of CFA Institute membership.  For more information on the PNS and how to apply, please contact us at [email protected].

The table below outlines the options and requirements for each level of membership and includes information on dues and links to application forms.

Member Type

Charterholder Member

Regular Member

Affiliate Member


Open To

Membership with CFA Institute is a requirement for using the CFA® and CIPM® designations.

Candidates or Individuals who have completed the work experience requirements for the eventual award of the Charter AND have successfully completed Level 1 of the CFA Program or Level 2 of the CIPM Program.

Candidates, Individuals or Investment professionals who do not meet the eligibility requirements of regular memberships or do not intend to participate in the CFA Program or CIPM Program.

Candidates, Individuals or Corporations who do not wish to join CFA Institute but wish to support and be involved with CFA Society Winnipeg.

Membership Renewal